Published On: Mon, Jan 16th, 2017

Somalia: Senate sets date for its leadership Election

The newly elected Somalia’s senate has Monday announced a deadline of election for its leadership as the lower house chamber voted for speaker and two deputies last week.

After a meeting in Mogadishu, the senate has appointed six-member committee to prepare and arrange the voting for the chairperson and two deputies which is scheduled 22 January.

The electoral committee of the senate:

  1. Senator Mohamed Osman Farah (Dhagajuun)
  2. Senator Jawahir Ahmed Eilmi.
  3. Senator Farhan Ali Husein.
  4. A/llahi Sheikh Isma’il Fartag.
  5. Senator A/risack Ahmed Ali.
  6. Senator Hussein Sheikh Mohamud.

Senator Dhagajuun who has been elected from Hir-Shabelle state was appointed as the chairman of the interim electoral body, while Farhan Ali from Puntland as the secretary.

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

gabadhiireerSudan tuuglaxaday300 ANAASIXRAYNINKA3002 Aabedartii300 arooskaorod300